bluno.org occasionally fully formed thoughts by bernie mcginn

is microsoft using referer spam?

Well, this is interesting.

Being the good web nerd, blog stats fanatic that I am, I check in a couple times a day to the different web analytics programs I have set up for the site. i’ve been toying with slimstat, google analytics, and the Wordpress.com stats plugin. Each has its own benefits, but that isn;t what this post is about.

I saw a curious referer from a search for “infiniti” from live.com

But i knew right away… I don’t write about cars on my blog.

Even more interesting is that the request came from an ip address @ Microsoft.

Now, it would really be silly if Microsoft thought it was a good idea to referer spam blogs like mine aspiring to make it to the c-list blogger tier in order to drive traffic to search.live.com, wouldn’t it? I wonder if text ads for “infiniti” cost much these days?

I can’t really explain how the referer happened, since the term “infiniti” hasn’t been on the site until now.

Here is a snip from the logfile:

131.107.0.96 - - [06/Jun/2007:21:07:12 -0700] “GET /wp-content/themes/sandbox/skins/bluno.css HTTP/1.1″ 200 2929 “http://www.bluno.org/” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; Win64; x64; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)”
131.107.0.96 - - [06/Jun/2007:21:07:12 -0700] “GET / HTTP/1.1″ 200 37905 “http://search.live.com/result.aspx?q=infiniti&mrt=en-us&FORM=LVSP” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; Win64; x64; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)”
131.107.0.96 - - [06/Jun/2007:21:07:12 -0700] “GET /wp-content/plugins/audio-player/audio-player.js HTTP/1.1″ 200 791 “http://www.bluno.org/” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; Win64; x64; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)”
131.107.0.96 - - [06/Jun/2007:21:07:12 -0700] “GET /wp-content/themes/sandbox/stylebluno.css HTTP/1.1″ 200 5313 “http://www.bluno.org/” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; Win64; x64; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)”
131.107.0.96 - - [06/Jun/2007:21:07:13 -0700] “GET /wp-content/plugins/falbum/falbum.css.php HTTP/1.1″ 200 15426 “http://www.bluno.org/” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; Win64; x64; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)”
131.107.0.96 - - [06/Jun/2007:21:07:13 -0700] “GET /wp-content/plugins/google-analyticator/ga_external-links.js HTTP/1.1″ 200 2281 “http://www.bluno.org/” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; Win64; x64; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)”

I mean, that would be a really dumb move on Microsoft’s part, right?

Update: hmm… a few minutes more research turns up this at webmaster world:

What happens is:

- they build an index.
- it has errors in it.
- they run a util on high value kws that flags possible problems for a hand check.
- they do the hand check and delete obvious mistakes.

I guess I can buy that, but it would be sad that their search index could be so wildly error prone.. I sure hope word doesn’t leak out about it! :)


2 Comments

I’ve noticed this in my web logs too. I wouldn’t have spotted it if it wasn’t for the fact that some of the search terms were rather sexually explicit!

Posted by Martin Payne on 26 June 2007 @ 12pm

What made me curious is seeing these types of search.live.com referers over the past several months but with brand names of drugs (I won’t mention specific ones so people Googling or Live Searching — does anyone actually use that — won’t hit your site because of them). I can’t see how Microsoft’s indexing spiders would have ever found any of those words on my site, though.

Posted by David Lauri on 8 August 2007 @ 8am

Leave a Comment

Mott-ly Tisdale Mr. Lee CatCam